Awards Program

An Annual Awards Banquet and Program is held in August to recognize landowners who have done outstanding work in soil conservation, windbreak establishment, and wildlife habitat development. Students who win at the Region 1 and State Poster Contest competition receive their certificates and cash prizes at the awards banquet as well.
Izaak Walton League of American Windbreak Awards Program

The Izaak Walton League of America Windbreak Awards Program honors farmstead and field windbreaks that demonstrate conservation practices. Windbreaks chosen for recognition must be aesthetically pleasing as part of the natural landscape. Entries are also judged according to the management plan the owner uses to maintain the windbreak. Windbreak award winners for 2018 include:

Randy & Rhonda Van Kalsbeek of Hospers for their newly established (2-5 year) windbreak located west of Newkirk.  The windbreak was planted in 2013.  Species include viburnum blue muffin, black hills spruce, and Colorado blue spruce.  A total of 91 trees were planted.


 Tom & Marlene Haupert of Granville for their established windbreak over 5 years old windbreak located near Granville.  The windbreak was planted in 2011.  There are 4 rows of trees including 1 row of Chinese lilac, 1 row of Austrian pine, and 2 rows of Colorado blue spruce.  A total of 93 evergreens and 177 shrubs were planted.


Click on Names to View
Iowa Soil Conservation Awards Program
Izaak Walton League of American Windbreak Awards Program
Wildlife Habitat Award
Tony Pottebaum Windbreak Award
Conservation Teacher of the Year
Iowa Environmental Leaders