Awards Program

An Annual Awards Banquet and Program is held in August to recognize landowners who have done outstanding work in soil conservation, windbreak establishment, and wildlife habitat development.
Tony Pottebaum Windbreak Award

The Sioux County Soil & Water Conservation District established a Tony Pottebaum Windbreak Award in memory of Tony, a commissioner from 1983-1998, who dedicated a great deal of his time to resource conservation. Criteria to receive this award include a windbreak that is over 5 years old, must be seven or more rows, with weed control and maintenance being evident. The District will award $200 and a certificate to an outstanding windbreak that qualifies.

Oolman Pork LLC of Orange City received this award for an outstanding windbreak they established in 2004.  They planted 41 Colorado Blue Spruce, 36 Austrian Pines, and 183 Dogwoods, totalling 260 trees.  Accepting the award for Oolman Pork LLC is Eric and Jessica Oolman.

Eric, Jessica, Brayden, and Jace Oolman

Click on Names to View
Iowa Soil Conservation Awards Program
Izaak Walton League of American Windbreak Awards Program
Wildlife Habitat Award
Tony Pottebaum Windbreak Award
Conservation Teacher of the Year
Iowa Environmental Leaders