Awards Program

An Annual Awards Banquet and Program is held in August to recognize landowners who have done outstanding work in soil conservation, windbreak establishment, and wildlife habitat development.
Iowa Environmental Leaders

The Iowa Farm Environmental Leader Awards is a joint effort of the Governor, Lt. Governor, Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, and Iowa Department of Natural Resources to recognize the exemplary voluntary efforts of Iowa's farmers as environmental leaders committed to healthy soils and improved water quality.

It recognizes those that have taken steps in their farming operations that improve or protect the environment and natural resources of our state while also serving as local leaders to encourage other farmers to follow in their footsteps by building success upon success.

As environmental leaders, these farmers have adopted the best management practices and incorporated environmental stewardship throughout their farming operations. True stewards of the land, they recognize that improved water quality and soil sustainability reaps benefits that extend beyond their fields to reach the citizens of Iowa and beyond, and have made environmental stewardship a priority on their farms.

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds, Lt. Gov. Adam Gregg, Secretary of Agriculture Mike Naig, Deputy Secretary of Agriculture Julie Kenney, and Department of Natural Resources Director Kayla Lyon recognized 40 farm families for their environmental stewardship during a ceremony at the Iowa State Fair.

The Rensink family of Sioux Center were recipients of the award in 2022 because of their long-term on-farm investments in resource conservation. They have been actively involved with the local watershed project by giving presentations at workshops, writing articles for the project newsletter, and assisting other farmers sign up for cost-share programs. Josh & Micah recently started their successful business venture, Pivotal Farm Services, an ag retail company that specializes in selling and seeding cover crops locally. They have invested in an air seeder, drone, and other equipment to help local farmers protect and build up their soil as well as provide grazing opportunities for livestock. Micah & Heather accepted the award for the family at the annual awards banquet.

    Rensink Family with Governor & Secretary of Ag       


Micah, Heather, & Liam Rensink

Click on Names to View
Iowa Soil Conservation Awards Program
Izaak Walton League of American Windbreak Awards Program
Wildlife Habitat Award
Tony Pottebaum Windbreak Award
Conservation Teacher of the Year
Iowa Environmental Leaders